advice, defining style, pearls of wisdom, style, style tips

defining style, part ii


In Part I of my “Defining Style” series, I mentioned briefly that I believed style to be an innate factor – an instinct, if you will – versus fashion (I defined “fashionable” as an acquired ability to follow the latest trends). Yes, aesthetic is purely personal, but whether you possess it or not is as blunt as it gets: Elisa Sednaoui, model and goddaughter of Christian Louboutin (!), says it rather well: “Style is like talent. Either you have it or you don’t.” Simple as that – it’s black and white. Yes, or no. True, or false.

Style is consistency. It is a combination of knowing your body, your self. It is an understanding of every curve (or perhaps lack of), accepting each flaw for its uniqueness, and knowing how to dress accordingly. Most importantly, however, style is knowing who you are, and precisely how you wish to convey individuality to the public eye. Style is the image of character; it is a reflection of taste. With style there are no gaps in your wardrobe, just effortless fluidity which carries you from day to night. Nothing is contrived – but it is always dynamic.

Personal style evolves organically with cultural movement, all the while preserving the integrity and foundation of who you are. It is akin to being a part of the conversation: your input, your take, your perspective on what Karl Lagerfeld calls “the nonstop dialogue” of fashion’s progression.

That, my dolls, is style.

| So now the question that begs to be answered: Do you have style?

Gravitation towards similar pieces, colors, cuts, silhouettes is a simple indication of it. I hate spending more than an hour in one store – I know exactly what I like when I see it, and if the price tag is reasonable, I grab it. More than often I leave the fitting room with whatever I’ve pulled off the racks; I’ve become accustomed to my body and taste (and yes, mom, you deserve some credit for that).

It’s taken years, though. And it’s continuously developing and refining (I’m well shy of twenty!). But what I know thus far is this: I have a predisposition towards certain things: batwing or balloon sleeves, dance-wear inspired tops, fitted dresses, jewel tones or black – but it’s not to say I haven’t made impulse purchases on outrageous things. At the time I justified them as a means of self-exploration and an attempt at being adventurous. But the truth is, the novelty of the piece in question wears off all too soon. It was fun at the moment, and the first [few] times of wear. A good time. (Like my relationships with boys, for better or for worse…). It feels liberating the first time, and then the short-lived honeymoon will have ended. The piece in question then disappears into the depths of my closet, resurrected only when I throw it into the “Donate” pile. It doesn’t feel me, and it feels out of place in my wardrobe. I can’t commit to something so uncharacteristic. I feel uncomfortable.

Thus, the point of defining individual style is to hone in on your self – both personality and physicality – and taste. Once you know who you are and what you want, you refine. Cut down on those impulse purchases and resist succumbing to fashion trends.

| Why the focus on style, you ask?

For one, I’m not a particularly fashionable person. I’m more of the type whom people categorize under stylish. If you’ve read my little bio page, you know I’m a fashion enthusiast, but don’t condone how it makes people go all ga-ga and throw away money just to get the next pair of studded hotshorts. I believe in staying true to yourself: and how you dress is a reflection of that. That’s what people see. And that’s what people, unfortunately, judge you upon. We live in a world where first appearances outweigh all (do read Blink by Malcolm Gladwell), and no one should be disregarded simply because he/she didn’t dress “right.” Or well. Whatever.

.   .   .

bises! x

P.S.: Look out for the how-to, tips, and tricks on exactly how to define your style. Coming, tout de suite!

Standard