designers, fashion, style

versace resort 2011


Few designers truly embody the essence of resort collections – fantasies of summer whilst in the dead of winter (snowed in, no less) and the acknowledgment of wearability all the while projecting some dream destination. While I do admire the conceptual, the survival of a brand counts upon marketability. Wearability. Would the everyday woman pack a pair of fire-engine red harem pants which draw all eyes to her, uh, crotch, to Europe? (Givenchy, ahem.) Probably not.

Versace, on the other hand, is a whole other story. I’ve always loved their idea of womanly sensuality: incredibly sexy, but never contrived. Donatella designs for the sexpot. She who wears Versace is the Marilyn Monroe and Brigitte Bardot of the modern day.

Perhaps boring to some, but I suppose to the less adventurous (I prefer the description “appreciation for timelessness”), Versace has delivered a not only cohesive collection, but a covetable one as well. I want to play in it. The collection, that is. Romp around through European towns and cities by day, visit a club by night. I could also stop by the office in between – after all, business and pleasure often go hand in hand.

It’s truly a shame that women no longer dress in just-above-the-knee-length skirts or dresses, choosing instead micro-mini’s. Not that there’s anything wrong with that in particular – mini skirts sometimes can elongate my legs, but truth is, I often find that women sacrifice modesty with such lengths. I miss appropriate lengths. After all, leaving more to the imagination – though counterintuitive so it seems – work more so in our favor. ‘Tis all about leaving the men wanting more.  I adore anything sexy that retains an element of sexappeal – not simply sex itself – and for my particular body shape & size (über petite with an hourglass silhouette) this collection is pretty much perfect. Lengths that hit just above the knee or mid-thigh are what lengthen, all the while hiding my non-supermodel legs.

I adore the sixties throwback – that carefree homage to iconic sexbombs clad in cocktail dresses and blazers sans undergarments. It’s perhaps one of my favorite time periods, with the twenties/early thirties following suit. Voluminous, slept-in bouffants, hair pinned half-up-half-down, an unassuming swipe of eyeliner and brown-nude lipstick. It’s the futuristic meets tribute to a favorite time period. Understated sex kittenish with a nod to the optimism of pop art, all in a cohesive, resort-y palette of orange, bright whites, mint, lilac, and aqua.

. . .

bises! x

{images via}

Standard

2 thoughts on “versace resort 2011

  1. Pingback: a bit coquettish

  2. Pingback: monika chiang fall ready-to-wear 2012 | a bit coquettish

Let's talk.