sensory saturdays, yours truly

sensory saturdays


Because alliteration is cool, and because my Creative Writing class has been especially inspiring as of late. Needless to say it’s my favorite of the six courses I have this semester. As stated in previous posts, I’ve been writing more: on benches around campus, in cafes, in bakeries – observing, people watching, and simply taking in everything (but now that the weather is less than lovely, I’ve settled for the dining hall or study lounges). It started as an exercise for Creative Writing, observing in the courtyard and taking note of the sensory experience.

{+} I like walking. I really like walking, actually. I get off at least one bus stop earlier solely for that purpose. It’s fantastic exercise (I’ve lost weight, thank goodness, rather than gain the dreaded Freshman 15), and incredibly relaxing.

{+} My breakfast of choice consists of three hazelnut coffees and a croissant. My dining hall fails at producing anything edible, let alone visually appealing, but somehow the coffee is decent (phew!) and the croissants are strangely delicieux. Perfectly crescent shaped, a bit flaky on the surface, and layered to buttery, melt-in-your mouth smoothness.

{+} Sitting under those black benches under lofty trees is so, so cliché but it really is relaxing, and makes for the perfect setting for writing/reading. It’s all picture perfect until the bottom of my Macbook starts burning my thighs, though.

{+} I’ve been featured on Her Campus, twice! First as a blurb under their “Blogs We Love” section, and then an interview. The girls are super sweet – thank you HC! Head on over if you’d like to know a bit more about yours truly, and for adorable college tips. About me, they said…

“Reading this blog, and judging by the sophistication air, you would never guess that the author is merely an eighteen year old, recent freshmen. Kimberly Pearl’s blog is the exemplification of a young woman who, “loves to flirt with life.” It’s witty, fashion-drenched and refreshingly original. We die for her blog because unlike so many other bloggers, her writing is impeccable and juicy. The best part is her [French], Parisian flair. It has that “it” feeling, that je ne sais quoi factor.”

I’m blushing (!).

{+} I’ve realized that I cannot go a week without dancing. And a day without some sort of caffeinated beverage paired with carbs. Au Bon Pain is my new favorite spot, it trumps Starbucks in baked goods (bagel twists with white chocolate and toffee, cinnamon scones, toffee cookies…) and food (Mediterranean wraps!). Aesthetics and vibe-wise though, Starbucks wins.

{+} Vegetables make me insanely happy. Ordering (and consuming, no less) hummus pita and making a massive salad at the dinner take-out bar – these were on separate nights, of course! – were highlights of my day(s).

{+} Confession of the Week: I wore a hoodie out – for breakfast. Friday, actually. The weather was pretty shit-tastic, I had a late night, and well… I did wear them with skinny jeans and heeled boots. So it wasn’t too bad. Nonetheless, it was initiation into true, unadulterated, college life.

 . . .

bises! x

{image via}

Standard

One thought on “sensory saturdays

  1. Pingback: Sensory Saturdays | a bit coquettish

Let's talk.