fashion, things i love..., thoughts, yours truly

things i love (thursday)


  • Sneaker wedges. I don’t care what anyone says, I love them. (I liked them before the Isabel Marant kicks became a cult trend, but you know, that’s irrelevant.) I love how I look in them, I love how my legs look in them, I love how I feel in them… Which is a cross between a nineties pop star babe and a Step Up 2: The Streets extra. You’re probably not going to ask if I gave them a test-run, in store, but I did. Forget the usual padding-around-to-see-if-they’re-comfortable, I tried a double in them. Success! That’s when they came home with me. My shoe philosophy is simple: if I can’t dance in them, they’re out.
  • Lemon water, first thing in the morning. I’m obsessed. Before I graciously dropped my 20-oz. venti Starbucks mug (R.I.P.), I used to fill that baby up with what I’m convinced is a magical elixir. The health benefits are astounding, plus it tastes delicious. It’s the perfect pick-me-up for my early mornings.
  • The Akola Project. It’s an incredible cause worth wearing and spending for. I haven’t yet worn my drape necklace, but I have it hanging as a piece of art from my bedroom wall. It’s gorgeous to look at and quite the conversation starter already.
  • ITG x Miranda Kerr. As always, I love Emily Weiss’ “The Top Shelf” pieces; this Miranda Kerr interview counts for one of my all-time favorites. I’ve always admired her, but this article has me aspiring to live as healthy and holistically as she does. Being healthy isn’t just a “thing” you do, it’s the way you are.

“You don’t have to be 100% strict with yourself. It’s about balance, being kind to yourself, and knowing what works, but not feeling like you have to do everything. For me, it’s 80% health-conscious and 20% indulgence. I try to avoid saying ‘always’ and ‘never,’ because we’re human beings, and it’s not always possible. But to be educated and aware of what you’re doing before you do it is the key.”

  • Red lipstick. While I prefer a bare face or minimal makeup, I love a bold lip from time to time to change things up a bit. It’s been months since I’ve reached for a tube of red lipstick, but somehow, a bright, semi-glossy red felt right for my mood du jour. It’s unapologetically femme , it’s in-your-face, it’s a pout-y “I am woman, hear me roar!” Sometimes it’s nice being the girl with the red lipstick; I like being her from time to time.
  • Old City, Philadelphia. It’s beautiful. I’ve only really seen it for a hot minute between finding parking, hopping into Starbucks for a dose of caffeine before hiding away in a quaint little dance studio for practice, but in those brief moments, I’ve fallen in love with the city. I’m determined to spend an entire day — or weekend, ideally — exploring the Old City’s cobblestone streets before the end of summer.

.   .   .

xx

Standard

5 thoughts on “things i love (thursday)

    • My skin’s noticeably brighter and clearer (that said, however, I’m not prone to breakouts; I get a few spots around that time of month, but once I’ve started drinking lemon water consistently, I get less – or no – spots). Drinking water first thing in the morning also helps curb my diet (I hate that phrase but I can’t think of better wording) throughout the day. x

      Like

  1. Pingback: 10 things to make you feel beautiful everyday | a bit coquettish

Let's talk.