inspiration, life, sensory saturdays, style, tearsheets

sensory saturdays


Right now: back to black. Crocodile-embossed leathers. Jewel tones. Nothing but bronzer and mascara (anything more is too much to ask of a girl who wakes up at 6 a.m. and comes home at 1 a.m., but a Jersey girl loves her bronzer). Ankle boots have resurrected from depths of the shoe wall and  are promptly being placed back on my feet. I’m wearing my favorites from last year until their dying days – they’re hanging by threads at the moment – and once the shoe gods call, I have a brand new pair awaiting to be worn.  Platform, lace-up, buckles, crocodile-embossed black leather. Shoe fetishism at its finest (and matches my current go-to handbag, coincidentally).

Isn’t that what fall fashion is usually about, anyway? Save bohemia or 90’s GUESS girl throwbacks for Ibiza in the summertime; we want leather, we want fitted, we want edge, now. Rock femme are the words. Big leather bag, leather jacket, leather boots. We’re bracing ourselves for the fall with leather layers and pumpkin spice lattes – how else would we justify starting our days cold, grey and wet?

It’s all just a uniform, really.

Still, I’m holding on to reminders of summer. Ripe avocados sliced up and drizzled in olive oil, finished with a few twists of black pepper. Scrambled eggs are prepared in the same manner – and voila, a breakfast meal that injects a bit of summer back into those cold, dark mornings. Because aside from the pretty, bright green, all I have are my pumpkin lattes,

and I’ve gone back to black.

.   .   .

x

{image via}

Standard

5 thoughts on “sensory saturdays

  1. When I saw the crocodile embossed tile in the lead photo, I just flipped! I love the texture of crocodile skin and love finding great ways to incorporate its look into spaces. This relishing of all things reptile began at an early age. When I was little, my mother had a pair of shoes and a purse that were crocodile — or maybe they were alligator — no way to tell because I couldn’t see its nose. I was fascinated with them and would examine their texture, running my fingers over them. Fast forward several decades and I still love the stuff! If you love the reptile texture of alligator and crocodile, but aren’t sure how to use it, check out these great rooms and products for ideas. Oh, and just in case you were wondering: I don’t think anything shown here is actually from a real crocodile or alligator. If it isn’t ceramic tile or fabric, most of what you see here is either stamped cowhide or textured vinyl. Real crocodile and alligator skins are much more expensive than stamped cowhide and also quite a bit smaller, so they are usually used for purses, shoes and wallets.

    Like

  2. Pingback: what to wear: halloween inspiration + tearsheets « a bit coquettish

Let's talk.