current affairs, designers, fashion, maintenant, shopping!, smart shopping

je suis excitée! (we’re talking about a versace for h&m collaboration, here)


I rarely get excited over collaborations or capsule collections of any sort. One, I can’t be bothered most of the time, and two, they’re brilliant marketing ploys I refuse to get sucked into. And three, well, I always seem to forget the launch dates because I either write everything in one big notebook or on haphazard Post-Its. It’s disorganized organization at it’s finest; inevitably, I manage to lose track of things along the way. Hence why I have a desperate need for a Mulberry agenda in my life. Or a Filofax. Polar opposites in price range, but still both are expensive in their own rights. The question is, however, whether or not organizing my life is worth the plunge…

Because it’s imperative I remember the release date of this particular one. Versace for H&M. I’m excited. Non.

Je suis excitée!

I love Versace. Donnatella Versace. I loved Gianni, too, but there’s something about a woman designing for the woman – she understands her. Given my love for all things sensuous and womanly, my French declaration is hardly unwarranted (pun intended). The one thing Versace always manages to do very, very, obscenely well (no pun intended) is sex. Or sex-y, rather. Dresses, party and otherwise, are oftenso sexy a man (or even yourself, if you’re in the mood) is torn between tearing that dress off then and there and simply staring in admiration of the wonders it does for your body.

I’m all about leaving clothes on though, if not for decency’s sake, then for (1) leaving more to the imagination, because doing so is the ultimate rule of proper coquetry, and (2) Versace is far too expensive to be torn in lustful fistfuls and left to lie in some heap on the floor.

And since Versace’s oh-so-sexy dresses are beyond reach of my grubby little fingers, it only makes sense that je suis excité and my need for a Filofax of sorts increases by tenfold. “For me this is an opportunity to show to a very very big audience what Versace has been and what Versace is now,” designer Donatella Versace said in a video announcing the collaboration.

H&M’s creative advisor, Margareta Van Den Bosch, says the collection will commemorate the fashion house’s most iconic pieces dating back to the ’80s, and will includes 40 women’s pieces, 20 men’s pieces and, of course, accessories.

The tribute to the past, however, is not to be misconstrued as simply a direct revival and nothing more. “As a designer I look at the future — I never look at the past, but being the sister of Gianni, the DNA is Versace and I’m going to use iconic Versace pieces of iconic Versace moments which are not exactly always the past but also the present,” Donatella said.

One piece from the H&M collection has already debuted on the runway; only a few days ago, Donatella wore a black leather mini embroidered with gold studs to close her men’s show in Milan.

The collection is set to hit 300 H&M stores on November 19. Mark your calendars, mes chéries!

. . .

bises! x

P.S.: Donnatella looks killer in the above photograph. Hair blown-out and dressed in head-to-toe black — cashmere turtleneck, leather leggings, gorgeous boots — and gold accessories? So classic.

{image & source via}

Standard

One thought on “je suis excitée! (we’re talking about a versace for h&m collaboration, here)

  1. Pingback: versace x h&m | a bit coquettish

Let's talk.