maintenant

maintenant


Main·te·nant, adverb. Of the French language, meaning “now,” “at the moment,” and perfectly suitable for a[n American] culture which thrives upon this idea of instant gratification and living for now, for better or for worse. Live for the present and appreciate everything of the moment! Welcome to my lists – a comprehensive form of Twitter; whatever ramblings and updates on my life, my current obsessions, things I love, stuff I dub noteworthy. Here’s to the now, maintenant. Feel free to share yours!

. . .

{+} I was flattered when Internships.com asked if I would write a piece on the how-to’s and what to wear’s for their latest initiative, Eye of the Intern, a series published through their blog highlighting professional dress for young men and women. It is imperative that all know how to dress both appropriately and still impress. However, some don’t understand the importance of it, or simply don’t know how. It was after interning at a courthouse (it was appalling how many dressed not just for work, but to appear in court!) when I was inspired to help women and men alike put their best face forward for that first impression that makes all the difference. First appearances domatter. It’s unfortunate, but it’s true. We make our best – and sometimes most inaccurate – judgement within the first few blinks. Let’s make it count in our favor.

Check out my guest article on how to dress for the corporate world, please!

{+} Neons for spring and summer. If black is to every day and jeweltones is to autumn/winter, then the only obvious and logical completion to my analogy is neons for the remainder of seasons. There’s nothing like a contrast between beautifully bronzed skin and a bright pop of color. Currently loving brights on my nails and bathing suits! Next up on the list of things to try are bright pink and orange lips. When I’m feeling adventurous, of course.

{+} My take on comfort food is as healthy as it is satisfying for those blah days and sweet tooth moments. A small bowl of mixed cereal, dry, containing equal parts of Cookie Crisps, Golden Grahams, and Kracklin’ Oats. Miam!

{+} There’s nothing like reading a magazine, cover to cover, curled up with the windows open on a beautiful day. I’m revisiting my inspiration journal, tearing out images which inspire me and articles of favorite journalists I wish to use as guidance for self-improvement.

{+} I’ve completely forgotten that my birthday is tomorrow (April 5th); I was so kindly reminded by my friends (what would I do without them?). Anything huge in store? Not in particular. Or at all, for that matter. Both this week and the following will be incredibly stressful, chock full of deadlines, classes until the wee hours of the night, and exams. I’ll take any excuse to live and breathe coffee, though. A night out dancing would have been ideal, but I doubt there’s time for that. C’est dommage. Oh well.

. . .

bises! x

Standard

Let's talk.